Chronology of administrative-territorial entities of Belarus

Let us briefly dwell on the changes that took place in state formations and their administrative division on the territory of Belarus.

VI-VIII centuries – on the territory of Belarus unions of tribes were formed – “princes” of Krivichi, Dregovichi, Radimich.

IX-X centuries – these “princedoms” entered Kievan Rus.

1st half of the X century – Independent principalities of Polotsk and Turov were formed. Kievan Rus disintegrated.

XIII-XIV centuries – The territory of Belarus entered the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. Since 1443, part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania is divided into the voivodeships of Troki and Vilnius.

1564-1566 – The territory of Belarus is included in the voivodeships of Berestei, Vilna, Vitebsk, Kiev (Mozyr district), Minsk, Mstislav, Novogrudok, Polotsk.

XVIII century (1772) – 1st partition of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. The eastern part of Belarus is annexed to Russia, included in the Pskov and Mogilev provinces and divided into provinces: Vitebsk, Mogilev, Mstislav, Orsha, Polotsk, Rogachev.

1776 – Polotsk Governorate was formed.

1778 – Mogilev and Polotsk provinces were renamed into viceroyalties.

1793 – 2nd partition of the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth. The territories of Western Belarus were annexed to Russia, the Minsk Governorate with 13 districts was formed.

1795 – 3rd partition of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, Slonim Governorate was formed.

XIX century (1802) – The new provincial division of Russia. 5 provinces were formed on the territory of Belarus: Mogilev, Vitebsk, Minsk, Grodno, Vilna.

Xx century (1919) – the Byelorussian SSR was formed as part of the provinces: Minsk, Vitebsk, Grodno, Mogilev and western districts of the Smolensk province.

1920-1924 – the territory of Belarus was divided mainly between Poland and Russia.

1924 – 1st enlargement of the BSSR. 10 districts were formed: Borisov, Bobruisk, Vitebsk, Kalinin, Minsk, Mogilev, Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, Mozyr, Orsha, Polotsk, Slutsk. 10 districts united 100 districts.

1926 – 2nd enlargement of the BSSR. Gomel and Rechitsa districts were formed.

1938 – 5 regions were formed: Vitebsk, Gomel, Minsk, Mogilev, Polesie.

1939 – After the reunification of Western Belarus with the BSSR , 5 more regions were created: Baranovichi, Bialystok, Brest, Vileika, Pinsk.

1944 – Bialystok Oblast was abolished.

1954 – Abolished: Baranovichi, Bobruisk, Pinsk, Polesie, Polotsk regions.

1960 – Molodechno Oblast was abolished.

From 1960 to 2003 – the administrative-territorial division of Belarus does not change and includes: Brest, Vitebsk, Gomel, Grodno, Minsk and Mogilev regions.

Comparison of the territory of Belarus with some CIS and European countries (the area of the territory of Belarus is 207.6 thousand km2):

Ukraine – 603.7 thousand km2

Bulgaria – 110.9 thousand km2

France – 544.0 thousand km2

Portugal – 92.0 thousand km2

Germany – 356.0 thousand km2

Austria – 83.8 thousand km2

Poland – 312.7 thousand km2

Lithuania – 65.2 thousand km2

Great Britain – 244.1 thousand km2

Switzerland – 41.3 thousand km2

Belgium – 30.5 thousand km2

Slovenia – 30.3 thousand km2